Let’s get started

Welcome To Adventure Kettle
Awesome cake and candles my husband surprised me with!

 

Happy Birthday to Me!

Today, I am 29. I could tell you woes and struggles about my age. I could tell you that I don’t feel almost 30, that I’m frequently mistaken for being younger (which I haven’t decided if that’s a good or bad thing). But that doesn’t take away from the cold, hard, fact that I am almost 30.

So, I want to do a 30 before 30 project.

I want to make this last year of my 20s special and I enjoy challenges and memes (ideas that spread from person to person within a culture). I fully believe in going in the direction of your dreams, no matter how big or small. Life is too short not to. My dad died at 50. In the past, I’ve won NaNoWriMo three times. Since 2011, I have read 75+ books a year. Here in 2014, I’ve lost 45+ pounds, before my foot gave out to a pinched nerve/neuroma/benign tumor. I’m also currently working on the Q&A-a-day: 5 Year Journal by Potter Style. Nerdy dares are my thing.

So, naturally when I learned about the 30 before 30 project list a few weeks ago, I was excited. I was randomly looking at bucket list ideas on Pinterest when I discovered the project. I’m game. Even if I don’t get to all 30, it’ll be fun along with way.

I randomly named this blog Adventure Kettle. I knew all forms of 30 before 30 would already be in use as a username, so I had to get more creative. I thought of several names, all taken. I had the idea to put the list in a jar and we would draw them out, but everything with the word jar in it was taken, too.

So, then I thought of this project as a kind of adventure. (No relation to the show Adventure Time, never seen it.) And since kettle was a synonym for bucket, as in bucket list, adventure kettle it is.

When I started telling others about this idea, I felt like they were inspired, too. Someone asked if you could do a 56 before 56. I say: sure! Feel free to make your own list, bucket, or kettle!

Party Cat from Nedroid.com
Party Cat from Nedroid.com

That’s all for now, I’ll be posting the list soon!

Leave a Reply

