In Memory

I’m writing today with a broken heart. My dear Grandmother passed away suddenly last week. She was 83. I’m very blessed that I was able to know her for 29 and a half years. I learned so much from her and I am the person I am today because of her.

IMG_5399I take comfort in the fact that I was able to see her the day before she passed. With residency, there are times we’re not able to visit family for weeks on end. Last year, after my Grandfather’s funeral, my Grandmother told me she was prepared and ready to go wherever God called her. I also take comfort in that, although I still miss her greatly.

In her memory, it’s past time that I write about list item: Secret Family Recipe. This one I stumbled upon. My grandmother was a great Southern farm cook. She taught me to bake. So naturally, I figured that my secret recipe would be something sweet.

However, I was experimenting with Kale and Turnip Greens at the beginning of the year and figured out an awesome way to serve them. My husband is not a man who traditionally enjoys seconds, but he loved what I made. So much so, he encouraged me to fix them for his relatives. I knew I was on to something and that I had, without knowing it, created my Secret Family Recipe.

As it’s a Secret, unfortunately, I cannot share it here on the blog. All I can say is, it’s Southern Turnip Greens with a slight twist that makes it like a stew. Keeping with Secret Family Recipe ideals, I don’t plan on sharing the recipe with my children and grandchildren until the perfect moment. Or I’ll hide it somewhere for them to uncover one day. Or maybe not until each of them has a kitchen of their own. Part of the fun of a secret recipe is withholding, creating scarcity, traditions and memories that you want to repeat.

IMG_5372Although I someday hope to be remembered for my Turnip Greens, there are too many foods to list that will continue to remind me of my Grandmother. Her lemon cake with lemon icing, her cathead biscuits, the love she put into her handmade pizzas, and how she always had a Mason jar of homegrown vegetable soup waiting. She taught me a lot about food. But more importantly, she taught me about love and laughter, the best ingredients for life.

4 thoughts on “In Memory

Leave a Reply

