The Orchestra

IMG_7881There was a time, long ago, when I was closed minded about classical music. I had the child logic of “Who wants to listen to music without words? How do you know what it’s about?”

When I started my college career, I was told that it was helpful to listen to classical music while studying. So, that opened the gate for me. During NaNoWriMo I also tried writing to classical music, as well as, soundtracks from fantasy films. And, since then, I haven’t stopped. Nowadays, I find classical music very relaxing. Sometimes a pop song can have a great beat but depressing lyrics. With classical music, it’s just you and the sound and how it makes you think or feel personally.

So, over the years I’ve grown cultured enough to finally appreciate an orchestra. I just had to find one and work against my husband’s ever-changing resident schedule.

It so happened that Rome, GA was having a special orchestra event the same day we were in town to see my alma mater play their homecoming game. I love when things work out like that. We took the family along and everyone was awestruck. The group sentiment was “why haven’t we been to the orchestra before??” An hour passed like no time at all.

IMG_6693

 

I believe it’s one of my favorite memories from this 30 before 30 journey. The wall of sound, the grace of the players, and the happiness it brought to everyone will stay with me for a long time. We will be going to the orchestra again!

Leave a Reply

