Housekeeping, Plot Bunnies

movienightWow, so where did January 2016 go? It ran in a flash, as I was chasing plot bunnies. A fictional short story consumed my month as I’ve resolved to do more creative writing. I couldn’t eat, couldn’t sleep, and even though it’s done, I’m still not content with it.

Anyhow, looking up from Microsoft Word, I find that I have been a neglectful blogger, reviewer, housekeeper, and friend. Super apologies.

So, let’s continue to tie up some loose ends here on Adventure Kettle.

During the 30 before 30, I barely finished the AFI 100 movies, but I did finish it.

I have to say that the list, in my opinion, contains some of the best and worst movies I have ever viewed in my life. I have found some new favorites, as well as, a few I hope fall off the list one day.

My opinion, the best of the “previously” unwatched by me:

  • The Godfather – I really dreaded this one, but it’s great. I don’t like movies involving crime, but the story of a family draws you in. Beautifully shot (no pun).
  • Singing in the Rain – Actually very funny and not just about sining in the rain…
  • City Lights – I always liked Charlie Chapin, but now I think he’s completely adorable. The man was a genius.
  • 2001: A Space Odyssey – Another dread, although I love scifi! Once I finally, finally got past the slow first hour, it’s very thought provoking.
  • Sunset Blvd. – Amazingly dramatic and eerie. Everything I always wanted in an old movie.
  • The General – Buster Keaton was a name I knew in passing. However, now, he’s also on the adorable list. The movie is packed with old fashioned action.
  • High Noon – Made me love Westerns again. Great rising action. Hubby hates Westerns, but loved the plot of this movie.
  • All About Eve – The ultimate frenemy, revenge movie for chicks. Holds the test of time very well.
  • Shane – A hero for the ages, made me love cowboys again (ha). Wonderful, symbolism that keeps you guessing in the end.
  • Duck Soup – The Bros are forever the kings of comedy. Every funny movie I’ve ever seen borrows from them.
  • Toostie – Crazy, but very funny plot. Dustin makes you forget he’s not Toostie.
  • The Silence of the Lambs – I expected to be severely grossed out, but the suspense is good. I get the appeal.
  • It Happened One Night – Grandmother of all romcoms. I’ll be laughing at this one for years to come.

My opinion, the worst of the “previously” unwatched by me:

  • The French Connection – I get that maybe it inspired some people, but for me it was too slow. I didn’t care about the characters.
  • The Wild Bunch – Help, too much shooting, too much blood.
  • Pulp Fiction – Ditto.
  • Nashville – Prior to MTV, I see that this was like a cool, country music video concert. For me, it didn’t stand the test of time.
  • M*A*S*H – I’ve enjoyed the tv show, but the movie was dull and women are just objects.
  • The Last Picture Show – Could’ve been set in my hometown, sad, hit too close to home.
  • Bonnie and Clyde – Ditto, shoot em up, sad.
  • Network – Slow, I remember none of the characters.

So, there you have it! Now I’m working on the original AFI list and the 100 passions. I gotta say that I wish that:

  • The Jazz Singer
  • Mutiny on the Bounty
  • All Quiet On The Western Front

were still included on the 10th anniversary list. In my biased opinion they are much better movies and The Jazz Singer and All Quiet On The Western Front still deal with issues that hit base today.

Leave a Reply

