State of the Blog

birthday-08Only a few more days until 30 During 30 is over.

Which is a good and bad thing. Good because December is a lovely month. I am looking forward to my birthday, several events, and Christmas.

Bad, because let’s face it. I’m not going to make all the items on the 30 During 30 list.

*Scooby Doo Ruh Roh Voice*

ruhroh

I just got busy this year. Which is also a good thing. I’ve wrote more this year, creatively, than I’ve wrote in my whole lifetime. I’m talking working on stories from 8am to 5pm, 7 days a week, and being frustrated that I couldn’t write more.

‘Cause if I’m honest, one of my biggest lifetime bucket list items is to write the best story I can write.

So, even though I kinda lost at 30 During 30, I’m still winning at other things.

And, I think this experiment is also a really good lesson…it’s hard to decide in Dec/Jan everything you want to try to do all year long. Although I didn’t pick outrageous and travel intense items this year, a lot of my schedule does center around my husband’s job and what we feel like doing when he’s off.

the_homework_debateMaking yourself do things, even things you things you wanna do, can feel like homework.

Take the AFI Passions list. I love movies. I watch a lot of movies anyways. I wanted to discover passionate and/or romantic movies I hadn’t seen before. And I did find a few great ones. However, the definition of passionate/romantic is different for other people, and I also found a lot of TERRIBLE ones, which turned the bucket list into a headache.

And, also, maybe I defined the list too strictly. When I listed “do more fanart” I meant painting. But the fan perler art and the fan photography I’ve been doing could also be considered “fanart”…and if that’s the case, I could have crossed it off the list months ago. But I just have preconceived notions of how I define the task.

Anyhow, I’m going to try and knock out a few more items, just to say I did.

Then, I guess this blog will magically turn into a “general” bucket list.

I haven’t decided what to do about the Instagram account…maybe turn it into a weekly update?

 

Leave a Reply

